Are You Using Your Skincare Properly?

Correct application of skincare can be very confusing. Cleansers, serums, double cleansing, peels, exfoliators, facial oils, moisturizers, manual masks, sheet masks – seriously? It can make anyone go insane! Or give up altogether.

I know not everyone has an in-depth skincare routine. You guys use what works for you, and that’s how it should be. However, maybe you do use or incorporate different types of products and get confused about the proper order and the benefits you can reap. I’ve relayed in a post before that I wrote a guide for skincare – The Definitive Guide to Flawless Skin. This post will be an overview mainly discussing the benefits of different skincare products and how to use them.

I will list each product in the order it should be and talk briefly about them:

  1. Cleanser
  2. Exfoliators (masks)
  3. Toners
  4. Essence
  5. Serums
  6. Sheet Masks
  7. Eye Creams
  8. Moisturizers
  9. Facial Oils
  10. Sunscreen (if during the day)

In essence, this is the 10-step k-beauty routine. Mine are many more steps because I use several serums and eye creams, but we won’t count that! I will definitely admit that there are times I’m too tired to do all of these steps. If I am tired, I just make sure my skin is cleansed and moisturized.

I won’t offend you and tell you what a cleanser is for or when it’s to be used. However, the type of cleanser is important depending on what type of skin issues you have. Many may think oil cleansers are not for those with oily/combination skin. This couldn’t be furthest from the truth. Like dissolves like – what? Oil cleansers are made of oil obviously so it will dissolve the oil. Oily skin is, in essence, dehydrated which makes your skin produce sebum (bad oil that causes breakouts). Oil cleansers will actually balance your skin and hydrate it. I had oily/combination skin, so I did a lot of research on this. Plus, my skin has benefited from this immensely. I now have normal skin and no more breakouts!! YES!

I like to double cleanse just to ensure my pores are cleaned out and that all traces of makeup has been removed. This has just been my experience, and I am no way suggesting you double cleanse. I just want to let you know what has worked for me.

After you cleanse, this is when you should exfoliate to remove all of the dead skin cells. Our skin sheds 40,000 dead skin cells every hour. Seriously??? You should choose whether you prefer manual exfoliation or chemical. I switch off between manual and chemical. You do not have to exfoliate every day either. A few times a week is sufficient.

Because your pH will be off because of the exfoliation process, you should use a toner. I like to use alcohol-free toners with extra benefits such as anti-aging properties. After that, I use an essence. Again, I’m not saying you have to if you want good skin. Do what works for you! Essences prep your skin for the rest of your products so they absorb better.

Serums are next. I’m a serum fanatic! I use several at a time. The ingredients in serums are smaller and able to sink into your skin deeper than just a moisturizer. Plus, I use different serums to get different benefits. Not all serums are created equal – some are anti-aging while others are brightening and etc. I switch serums every day. I don’t use the same all of the time. The two I will always use is retinol and Argan Milk. One thing to always remember is to use the thinnest serum first and work up to your thickest.

If you decide to apply a sheet mask, now is the time. Sheet masks contain serum, so it makes sense to use it at that time.

Eye creams are next. Again, thinnest to thickest and serums first – that’s if you use several eye creams.

Moisturizers go on next, and if you use facial oils, they should be applied last to lock in all of that moisture and goodness from the rest of your products.

If it’s during the day, the last product should always be sunscreen. Always. Otherwise, your last step would be the facial oil – at night. Facial oils are great for balancing your skin.

These are the steps I take every night because I’ve has such awesome results. Please, please do not think it’s necessary to do all of them. Some can only be once a week.

I apologize in advance for the lengthy post. I just hope some of you have been able to learn something in case you weren’t sure. Remember, you do what works for you!! Thanks for indulging me!

What is your skincare routine?

As always, stay beautiful!

32 Comments Add yours

  1. kathylcsw says:

    I do multiple steps too. I recently added an essence but am still looking for my perfect match

    Liked by 1 person

    1. What essence do you use?

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Makeup by Erin says:

    This is really handy! I really want to look into a facial oil for myself!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh I’m glad it helps!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Um-I’m a little afraid to admit I just started doing a skin care routine about 6 months ago, and I’m in my 40s 🤭

    I use a cleanser-my fave is the skin food Egg White Pore Foam, or Furst Aud Beauty Pure Skin Face Cleanser. I then exfoliate with Dr Brandt Microdermabrasion or PoreDermabrasion, or the Acure Facial Brightening scrub. The Dr Brandt stiff is harsh so I only use each one 1-2x a week.

    Then a serum-I was using Murad Retinol anti aging but I’m out of it, so sort of in-between serums st the moment. I’m using an Olay Regenist serum for now but next week I’m getting one of the retinol serums from the Ordinary.

    Moisturizer-my favorite ever is Caudalie Vinosource but I’m taking part in an anti aging moisturizer study at the moment and have to use the one they sent me. No idea what it is but I LOVE it. They’ll tell me when the study is over-I’ll totally buy it.

    That’s it. Boring. But I have normal skin and rarely break out.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s a great routine! I’m 46 and really started to take care of my skin in my 30s. That’s so awesome that you rarely breakout! Whatever you’re doing is working!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m the same age, and everyone used to tell me how important it was to take care of my skin-I barely had a makeup routine, and never washed my makeup off before I went to bed-ugh, I know. I’m lucky I don’t have the breakouts. I don’t know if I need/should use facial oil or toners? I do peel off masks once a week or so as well. I love your routine, it’s so thorough.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I basically had to do something, but everything else I was doing didn’t ward off any breakouts or other issues.
        Facial oils are great as we age because they replace essential fatty acids that we naturally lose over time. They keep the skin plump and keep those pesky wrinkles at bay.
        But, if your routine is working, don’t question it. If you start to see a new problem crop up, then address it and look into what can fix it. :):):)

        Like

  4. Britney says:

    Great post! I like to switch up my serums as well. Two of my favorites are the Hey Honey good morning serum and the No7 Protect & Perfect serum.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I always wanted to try No7 products!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. 40.000 dead cells every hour?aint that interesting lol…I had no idea. Thank you for the post…my routine is so minimal, i only use cleanser, exfoliate, toner and then a facial cream.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Isn’t that gross? Like I said, if it works for you that’s awesome!!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. lol yeah its really gross when you think about it. yes my routinr definitely works but now am curious about incorporating a serum

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think serums are one of the most important steps! I have so many suggestions depending on your skin type! !

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Funny story 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣, am not sure sure but I think ama combination kind of girl. Am oily but not super oily n sometimes I have dry skin ….so I don’t know 🙈

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yeah, sounds like combination. That’s how my skin was.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. So , any suggestions?

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I like time-released retinol and vitamin C for certain. PTR retinol is really good and any Vitamin C with ferulic acid.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Thank you, will look into them x

        Liked by 1 person

  7. What essence’s do you like? I’ve been wanting to try one for awhile now but theres so many, it’s a bit overwhelming haha

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Some can be very expensive. I wanted to try blithe 9 bean essence, but I went with MIZON essence because it’s good for anti-aging too. It’s available on Peach & Lily website. May Coop is a really good one too, but too expensive!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ah okay, I’ll check MIZON out. Thanks!

        Liked by 1 person

  8. I don’t think I’ve ever tried an essence before. I’ll have to look for one!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. yeah they’re really good!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Ok everything else I was fairly aware of but I never realised sheet masks go there in the routine ! I’ve been educated 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awesome!! I’m so glad!!

      Liked by 1 person

  10. There’s definitely a few things I need to start doing after reading this post!! I have actually recently started using a derma-roller and just wrote a review on it. Take a look if you wanted to add something to your skincare routine to make your skin plump and glowy!☺️💖 https://jaydecharlottereader.com/2018/02/25/review-derma-rolling-aka-micro-needling/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh very awesome!! I will!

      Like

Leave a comment